How to make your Facebook private 2020

With so much personal information available on Facebook, including birthdays, jobs and family updates, its no surprise you dont want all of your information shared with the world.

How to make your Facebook private 2020
Make Facebook Profile Private Featured

With so much personal information available on Facebook, including birthdays, jobs and family updates, its no surprise you dont want all of your information shared with the world. When you want to exercise more control of what other Facebook users see, especially those who are not your friends, its incredibly easy to do. Follow these few steps to make your Facebook private.

Also read:

How to Secure Your Facebook Account

How to Secure Your Facebook Account

How to Make Your Facebook Profile Private

To start moving your profile toward complete privacy, make sure all of your posts are limited to being viewable to just your friends.

1. Log in to your account and select the drop-down arrow in the upper-right corner of the Facebook screen. As the drop-down menu appears, select Settings & Privacy, then choose Settings again. When the Settings screen appears, look on the left side and locate and click the option for Privacy.

Make Facebook Profile Private Settings Privacy

2. Look for the Your Activity section. Its here that you can select things like who sees your posts or who can see the pages and people you follow.

Make Facebook Profile Private Your Activity

3. Next to Who can see your future posts? if it says Public, make sure you click on the Edit button to set it to Friends so only those on your friends list can see what you publish. To go one step further, you can choose Friends except and add people on your friends list who wont see any of your posts. You can instead choose Specific friends and only show your posts to a select group of people. The latter two options are definitely more private than the larger Friends but also require more manual setup.

Make Facebook Profile Private Settings Future Posts

4. If you want to be extra cautious, you can also do a sweep of all of your older posts and Limit the audience for posts youve shared with friends of friends or Public historically. If you choose this option, all of your previous posts will now only be viewable by your friends. Any friends or non-friends (Public) will no longer be able to see the post.

Make Facebook Profile Private Limit Timeline

5. Right below the option in the previous step is another setting for Who can see the people, Pages and lists you follow? This is a good step to ensure as much privacy as possible by setting this option to Only me. You can also set it to the same set of groups in step four with Friends, Friends except, Specific friends, etc. but each of those offer limited privacy. The best choice here is Only me, as that way you can be sure nobody can see a good chunk of your profile.

Make Facebook Profile Private Pages

Also read:

How to Use Facebooks Restricted List to Maintain Your Privacy

How to Use Facebooks Restricted List to Maintain Your Privacy

How to Limit Who Can Contact You

In the same way you locked down your posts in the steps above, its time to do the same with your friends list.

1. Start by clicking on Who can see your friends list? and making sure its set to Only me. Again, you have a few choices here, but if privacy is your biggest concern, choosing Only me is the best for your peace of mind.

Make Facebook Profile Private Friends List

2. There are a few other options here that you should manually set to Friends or Only me.

Make Facebook Profile Private Email Address
  • Who can look you up using the email address you provided? Its best to set this one to friends, as they likely already know your email, but you can also choose Only me for strict privacy.
  • Who can look you up using the phone number you provided? The same thought as above applies here. Only me is the most private, but Friends is probably okay since your friends likely already know your digits.
  • Do you want search engines outside of Facebook to link to your profile? This one is a definite no. You dont want your profile to be discoverable through Google, Bing, etc.

Also read:

How to Secure Your Social Media Accounts

How to Secure Your Social Media Accounts

How to Control Privacy Settings on Facebook App

Your Facebook an be easily made private on the mobile app, too.

1. Begin by launching the Facebook app on your iOS or Android smartphone or tablet. At the bottom right of the screen is a three-line menu you can tap on. Scroll down until you see the menu option for Settings & Privacy and tap on that so a list of options appears. Settings should be at the top of the list. Tap on it and scroll down until you see Privacy.

Make Facebook Profile Private Iphone One 1

2. Under Privacy, tap on the very first option, Privacy Settings, then tap on the first option labeled Check a few important settings.

Make Facebook Profile Private Iphone Two

3. In this menu, the first box on the left is Who can see what you share. Tap on this and on Continue to locate the settings for Friends and Following. Here you should change both of these two settings, Who can see your friends list on your profile? and Who can see the people, Pages and lists you follow? to Only me.

Make Facebook Profile Private Iphone Three

4. Once changes have been made, tap on Next and edit Future Posts and Stories to Friends for the best privacy level. Similar to the desktop, you can also see Limit Past Posts to remove non-friends from previously-tagged photos or posts. Tap Next again to save all of the changes and go back to your Facebook feed.

Make Facebook Profile Private Iphone Four

Also read:

How to Secure Your Facebook Account

How to Secure Your Facebook Account

Final Thoughts

Facebook is an incredible tool that has connected billions of users around the world. Instead of sharing with the public, it is best to make your Facebook private and only share with your friends. You can easily change your settings to do that, and reversing the process is just as easy. And if you ever feel like getting rid of your account, know that you can still view content without a Facebook account.

Also read:

How to Delete Comments, Likes, and Reactions on Facebook

How to Delete Comments, Likes, and Reactions on FacebookIs this article useful? Yes NoSubscribe to our newsletter!

Our latest tutorials delivered straight to your inbox    Sign up for all newsletters.  By signing up, you agree to our Privacy Policy and European users agree to the data transfer policy. We will not share your data and you can unsubscribe at any time.SubscribeComments (2)

  • Facebook
  • Tweet

Video liên quan