How to turn on read receipts on WhatsApp

Turning OFF WhatsApp Read Receipts prevents others from knowing whether or not you have been reading their messages.Turn OFF Read Receipts in WhatsAppWhenever you open any WhatsApp

How to turn on read receipts on WhatsApp

Turning OFF WhatsApp Read Receipts prevents others from knowing whether or not you have been reading their messages.

Turn Off WhatsApp Read Receipts On iPhone and Android

Turn OFF Read Receipts in WhatsApp

Whenever you open any WhatsApp Message on your phone, WhatsApp conveys this information to the sender of the Message, confirming that his/her Message has been read by you.

This confirmation appears in the form of two blue check marks that appear on the senders phone below the sent message (see below image).

WhatsApp Read Receipts

If you do not like this default setup, you can easily Turn OFF Read Receipts in WhatsApp and prevent others from knowing whether or not you have read their Message.

This setting works on a reciprocal basis, which means that Turning OFF Read Receipts for others, will also prevent you from receiving Read Receipts on your sent messages.

1. Turn OFF WhatsApp Read Receipts On iPhone

Follow the steps below to disable Read Receipts on iPhone.

1. Open WhatsApp and tap on the Settings tab located in bottom-menu.

WhatsApp Settings on iPhone

2. From the Settings screen, navigate to Account > Privacy and move toggle next to Read Receipts to OFF position.

Turn Off WhatsApp Read Receipts on iPhone

2. Disable WhatsApp Read Receipts on Android Phone

Follow the steps below to disable Read Receipts on Android Phone.

1. Open WhatsApp and tap on 3 dots Menu icon located at top-right corner of your screen.

WhatsApp 3-Dot Menu on Android Phone

2. From the Drop-down Menu, tap on Settings.

WhatsApp Settings Menu on Android

3. From the Settings screen, navigate to Accounts > Privacy > and uncheck Read Receiptsoption.

Turn Off WhatsApp Read Receipts on Android Phone

Once you Turn OFF Read receipts, your Contacts wont be able to see whether or not you have read their Messages.

As mentioned above, this feature works both ways, which means that from now onwards you will also not receive a confirmation or Read Receipt, when your messages are read by others.Related

  • How to Leave WhatsApp Group Without Notification
  • How to Use WhatsApp Without Phone Number or SIM

Video liên quan